Day 7 – Beating Procrastination and Overwhelm

Oh my dear friends, Procrastination and Overwhelm! I am definitely one of those people that will use another book, method or any other excuse to avoid my life. Overwhelm use to creep in early in my life but I’ve since created tools for myself to cope such as breaking everything down into reasonable chunks.

Procrastination, on the other hand, is the menace. I will engage in so much self-improvement that I avoid actually living in the moment. I use distraction, as I mentioned in a previous post, to keep me from progressing and growing. Procrastination is simple a bad habit!

Not anymore! Well, realistically, I will probably slip up once in awhile until I change my ways. Each day, I have been committing to stepping outside my comfort zone by saying yes to new opportunities. In my next post, I will write about my most recent “yes” activity. It is quite amazing and I know that these positive experiences move me forward. Even the not so positive experiences move me forward!

Another way I have been kicking procrastination’s metaphorical butt, is by working on one thing for myself and my freedom plan each day. My small steps have been this blogging challenge so far. I always thought, “I can’t blog” or “it takes to much time to blog” and I was wrong. It’s a great expression of myself and my experiences. In other words, what other mole hill sized tasks have I been making mountains out of?

One last thing I’ll mention here is awareness. I’m aware that I procrastinate and I know exactly what methods I apply to do so. When awareness is used then a solution can appear. I will not beat myself up if I take a little extra time to complete something. Instead, I will use kindness, wholeheartedness and tools to work through the obstacle.

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 7

Leave a Reply

