Day 5 – Setting Myself Up for Success

The key to success is applying small steps everyday. Consistency is important! In this post, I’m going to mention some habits that I actively use each day to help myself move towards my Freedom Plan.

I focus on creating a schedule around the time I’m most productive during the day so that I can take advantage of it. The morning is when I get the most done and can stay focused for the longest periods of time.

Also, I find if I set my intention the evening before I can prepare myself mentally for completing goals the next day. Then there is my planner that I use to reverse engineer my bigger projects. If I have a big dream that I want to accomplish, I will write it down in my planner that way I have an end date. I, then, break the goal down into monthly, weekly and daily steps. Usually, I set up my weeks on Sunday evenings.

I’m finding I love to work outside and find the most peace there. My “office” is portable. I will work on my offline projects outdoors and then find a WIFI connection if I need access to anything online. I find working these two categories into my schedule helps with my organization. Currently, I set “work hours” for myself. Right now, this method is helpful because I have spent 11 years working for someone else. It’s been a challenging transition for me to work for myself which is a relatively new concept. Normally, I’m a very self-motivated person but when I work for myself I become unproductive. Setting my work hours, tricks my old brain into working just as hard for myself.

I keep my distractions to a minimum as I don’t look at my social media until after my “work hours” and if I do look at my social media then I’ve planned an update for marketing or personal brand development. I do however enjoy background noise and listening to a podcast, audio book, or music. The thing about the background noise is that I need to have heard it many times before. New audible content grabs my attention too much.

Some new habits that I will be applying are writing down the top three goals or MIA (most important actions) for the day. If I achieve these goals then I would like to celebrate it in little ways at the end of the day. Also, I will use the Pomadoro Technique which breaks down the day into 25 minute tasks. Set a timer and at the end of the period, I can give my attention to something not work related I would like to do for a short time. After the mini-break, I will be set another 25 minutes and so on. These habits are mentioned by Natalie Sisson in her Day 5 blog post.

The most important thing I can do for myself is commit to a task or goal. As soon as I do that, I get things done!

“Successful people are simply those with successful habits.”
– Brian Tracy

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 5

Leave a Reply

